UNLV game on Facebook; Bonner up for Earl Campbell Award

The Mountain West Conference and UNLV announced Monday Arkansas State’s Sept. 7 game against the Rebels at Sam Boyd Stadium will appear exclusively on Facebook through the league’s partnership with Stadium.

The Red Wolves’ second game is scheduled for a 9 p.m. CT kickoff and will be produced by Stadium, a multi-platform sports network featuring exclusive live and on-demand games and events, extensive highlights, classic games, original programming and daily live studio programming.

The game, which will mark A-State’s first appearance on Facebook, will be available on Stadium’s Facebook page, @WatchStadium.

Stadium includes a 24/7 linear feed distributed across both digital and broadcast platforms, as well as a comprehensive array of on-demand (VOD) digital content including additional live games and events.  Additional information about Stadium can be found online at WatchStadium.com.

It is the third meeting between the Red Wolves and Rebels, each team winning on their home field. Arkansas State and UNLV will play each other for the second consecutive season, the game will mark just the third all-time meeting between the two programs.  The Red Wolves claimed a 27-20 win over the Rebels in Jonesboro last season, while the Rebels picked up a 28-23 home win in 1995.


Arkansas State junior quarterback Logan Bonner was announced Tuesday as one of 42 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) players across the nation named to the 2019 Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List.

The award recognizes the top offensive player in FBS who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell – integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity.  In addition, the nominee must be born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas high school and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four-year college.

An all-state selection at Rowlett High School, Bonner redshirted his freshman season before playing in a reserve role the last two seasons behind 2018 Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year Justice Hansen, who completed his eligibility last season.

The former Texas high school District 11-6A MVP has seen action in nine games the last two seasons, completing 24-of-53 passes for 251 yards and a pair of touchdowns.  A highly touted recruit coming out of high school, Bonner ended his senior season at Rowlett by connecting on 272-of-357 pass attempts for 3,671 yards and 32 touchdowns.

 The Earl Campbell Award will name 16 semifinalists in November and then narrow the list to five finalists in December. The semifinalists and finalists will be selected by broadcasters, commentators, journalists, fans and previous winners.  The finalists will be brought to Tyler, Texas, for the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Banquet that is scheduled for Jan. 15, 2020.

Source link